©2016 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Wave Hill, April Afternoon

An homage to the Impressionists and their gardens.

The obvious: it’s easy to find subjects to paint at Wave Hill, the peaceful place that never fails to buffer the events of the real world. This vista, overlooking the Hudson River and the New Jersey Palisades, is from the Wild Garden. In full April bloom is red columbine aquilegia canadensis, iris, azalea and cutleaf staghorn sumac. The three visitors I encountered here so nicely walked in front of my camera and my garden scene was complete. I worked this piece on a full sheet of Arches with the aim to find a balance between atmosphere, depth and details. I’m often reminded of the Impressionists, especially Monet, and their love of gardens when I visit Wave Hill. I was lucky to visit Monet’s Giverny a few years ago, and this year I will be traveling with a group of watercolorists to paint at  Belle-Ile, where Monet painted the rocks and the wild coast.

The obvious: the uglier the news gets the greater my need to get lost in a “pretty” painting. The more agitated I am, the more tree limbs get painted. The nastier the world gets, the longer I work on a piece. This one took over three weeks, and I feel as if I’ve been there before.

I read recently that an artist is in control at the beginning of the painting process, but eventually the painting takes over and tells you how to proceed. Yeah, that’s when I know it is time to stop, sign it, and move on, thankful for the respite from the real world.

June 2016
Watercolor
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 30″ x 22″

This entry was published on June 20, 2016 at 2:53 pm. It’s filed under Home, landscape, Spring, watercolor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Wave Hill, April Afternoon

  1. Joy
    Very good advice on control, stopping and respite from the real world. “Wave Hill,” has a great balance between nature and people. The three weeks were worth the time.

    • Joy Makon on said:

      Thank you Charles. I should add that there’s this funny axiom that the larger the sheet of paper, the smaller the brush…need to work on that one a bit…

  2. The rest of us can find respite in your paintings, too.

Leave a Reply

