©2016 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

In Progress, part 5

Reflections, a rigger brush and anthraquinone blue.

©2016 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.Once the bottom half of this painting is finished I will be able to say that I am a different painter from the one who did the top half. I’m happily letting go of details, making things up, deleting stuff that bothers me—while trying to have fun with it. Having studied this image so thoroughly through this painting, I can tell you where all the reflections originate from, and how neat waterlilies are growing underwater. It’s all there popping in and out within the water surface and reflections. I love making the red koi fish materialize out of the dark water.

FINALnewMembers

440 Gallery New Members Show opens Thursday, February 18, 6–9pm and runs through Sunday, March 20, 2016. I will be part of the Artist Talk on Sunday, February 28 at 4:40pm. Hope to see you!

I’m using my favorite sexy #1 rigger brush a lot with the water ripples and introduced yet another tube of blue paint: anthraquinone blue (M. Graham) to hit the darks. I mix it with burnt sienna to make a rich dark black.

Thanks for following along, Happy Valentine’s Day, and if you are in the New York City/Brooklyn area please check out my New Members Show at 440 Gallery in Park Slope.

February 2016
Watercolor on Aquabord, 22″ x 30″

This entry was published on February 12, 2016 at 3:53 pm. It’s filed under drawing, Fall, Home, landscape, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “In Progress, part 5

  1. yoffiesidman@gmail.com on said:

    There’s no denying it: You’re a magician!

    You’d have a field day in the Hawaiian islands. There is art everywhere. Love, Sharman and Alan

    >

  2. Stunning, so professional and well done so far – I imagine the rest will be outstandingly wonderful. Cheers to you!

  3. Joy
    Just back from business trip…what a habitat well painted (throughout the stages) would be a grand place for my Koi! This excellent painting (once finished of course) belongs displayed for all to see.

    • Joy Makon on said:

      I’ve got three more Koi to paint in this one, and then it’s almost finished. I hope to have this displayed –in tandem with a separate line drawing–in April in the Project Space at 440 Gallery. Thank you for your encouraging comment and welcome home.

  4. AngelavHugenschmidt on said:

    Your paintings are rich and deep and inviting. I like to see your work in progress. It makes me look at the details which I like so much in artwork.

Leave a Reply

