©2016 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

In Progress

Decided to shake things up and work large on a new surface

I rarely post work-in-progress steps but since I won’t have any finished paintings to post for awhile, I want to keep the blog part going along. Here’s about four days worth of painting—I posted a few weeks back while I was drawing the image. I envision that the drawing and the painting will be displayed side-by-side.

I’ll post progress on this painting every few days, and will probably work on other watercolors at the same time. This piece, already titled “All Overgrowth is Comic,” is too complex to focus on all at once. Such a fine mess I’ve created for myself.

The fun part right now is that I’m painting the scene upside down. The 30″ height is just a little too tall for me to reach comfortably, but I discovered that by turning the board (and my photo reference) I can make it happen a lot easier.

Not sure about the Aquabord as a surface—having issues getting crisp edges on things, but I think that by the time this piece is finished I’ll be opinionated about Aquabord one way or the other.

January 2016
Watercolor on Aquabord, 22″ x 30″

This entry was published on January 27, 2016 at 6:20 pm. It’s filed under drawing, Fall, Home, landscape, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “In Progress

  1. I often turn my working art upside down for the same reason. Don’t like to stretch over the painting to reach something. I often do the entire sky upside down and then cover it with something after I turn it back up. Last year when I painted that door, I put it flat in my living room on the back of two chairs and then walked around it as I worked on it. I never work on easels and I haven’t since leaving school. I’m sure the purists will turn their noses up at that.

    • Joy Makon on said:

      I actually bought this Richeson tabletop easel–it has a storage box for a base, and I’m liking it. It sits as low as I want and tilts in all directions to accomodate watercolor. It is saving my lower back from distress. And the best part: it creates more spaces under tables for my cats to hide and play.

  2. Joy, glad that your are posting the process in your development of the painting. Much can be offered by doing so and I will continue to follow your efforts with this painting.

    • Joy Makon on said:

      Hello Charles, thanks for your nice note and encouragement. Glad I posted–I enjoy seeing others work along the way too, and find it helpful.

  3. This looks like a very interesting and challenging effort! So lovely of you to share your experience, both as concerns the format and the aquaboard. I look forward to seeing how you get on – and I am sure I will learn something in the process, too.

  4. Sharman Yoffie-Sidman on said:

    Wow! What you’ve done so fare is gorgeous, Joy.

    XXOO Sharman

    >

  5. Truly beautiful… I am so enjoying the progress pics. Thank you for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

