©2015 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Standing Ovation

Storm King in October took my breath away.

Happy New Year to my followers and those I met this year at open studios and art shows. Your encouragement and support is important to me and I thank you for a wonderful year. I am ending 2015 in the studio with this painting of blazing trees and grown-out fields from a magnificent fall afternoon at Storm King Art Center. Here, what you see is what you get. Beauty. Light. Color. I’ve spent the time between Christmas and New Years in the meditative branches and leaves of this tree, and dove in perhaps too deeply. Creating the color and textures have lifted my spirits as much as anything else I could possibly find.

New Year resolutions are in the works, with plans to paint and draw and look at a lot of artwork frequently. For 2016, I hope that you can continue to walk out your door every day with unending curiosity and explore the world in love, peace and safety.

December 2015
Watercolor
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 14.25″ x 21.5″

This entry was published on December 31, 2015 at 10:43 am. It’s filed under Fall, Home, landscape, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Standing Ovation

  1. Joy
    Wow, what a statement this painting makes. Brilliant as per the artist and the painting itself. Great eye for subject manner!
    Keep in good health for the new year and many more excellent paints in 2016

  2. ArtsyDot on said:

    This is beautiful! I particularly love those white lines that give texture to the field and your choice of green for the grass/area closer to our eyes. Lovely setting!

  3. In the bleak mid-winter, as the hymn says, what a treat to have this blazing autumn reprise. Looking forward to 2016 and what you will achieve.

  4. Dude, this is watercolor?? That’s really good!

  5. So gorgeous! Love the brilliant colors and the balance you’ve achieved. Your art transports me to this place: I can almost feel the breeze and the warmth as I step out of the shade into the sunshine! Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

