©2015 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Along Coastal Maine

Happy Thanksgiving.

Why is it that we spend so much energy to hang curtains that block views and light, in sealing roofs to keep water out, and insist on gardening away pesky weeds that pop up in crevices? Practically speaking, we want to keep the rain out of our living space, yet what I really require is a daily dose of sky (preferably with sun), a body of water (some wildlife is nice), and a patch of green that’s manicured or not.

I’m thankful that this year I returned to Maine and discoved the beautiful areas that have been the creative office for so many artists. I’m thankful for the resources that allow me to paint my visions on beautiful paper.

From the studio in small-town Brooklyn, I’m thankful that I can share my art with good, loving people around the world.

November 2015
Watercolor
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 21.5″ x 14.25″

This entry was published on November 25, 2015 at 12:27 pm. It’s filed under Fall, Home, landscape, seascape, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Along Coastal Maine

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! I grew up on the coast of Maine…so, I really like this post!

Leave a Reply

