©2015 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission

News & Events from the Studio

It’s definitely sweater and scarf weather: from the second-story studio window I see blue jays being territorial over the squirrels, the Brooklyn ailanthus tree turned yellow, the ivy taking over a neighbor’s house turned deep purple. And there’s a lot of activity from artists in my neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York.

November 7 & 8 My studio will be open from noon to 6pm each day as part of the Park Slope Windsor Terrace Artists Open Studio weekend. 34 artists are participating and if you’re in the area, I hope you will stop by. Find information on each artist and a downloadable map on the group’s website or our Facebook page.

This summer I painted the people of Coney Island, discovered Storm King Art Center in the summer and fall, and visited the coast of Maine. The open studio will feature these paintings, along with pieces from wintry Prospect Park and spring at Brooklyn Botanic Garden. I plan to offer a special selection of small-scale works that will be very-gently priced—10% from sales from this selection will be donated to some of the non-profits that I favor.

440 Gallery, Park Slope, Brooklyn I’m proud to announce that I have become a member-artist at 440 Gallery in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Over the next few months, I expect to have a piece or two on exhibit at the gallery space, a flat file drawer in the gallery where some of my work may be viewed, as well as a presence on their website. I’ll be at the gallery over select weekends, and hope you’ll stop by so that I can personally talk about what is on display at this very special, very neighborhood place. The current exhibit is “Unintended,” photographs by David Stark, of the unexpected and unplanned beauty in urban settings. David’s photographs and pristine presentation of his photographic prints moved me. I found his work to be painterly and emotional, familiar yet some left me wondering…On display through November 22, 440 Gallery is worthy of a stop when you’re in the area of 9th Street and 6th Avenue. There’s always Mayor DeBlasio’s joint Bar Toto nearby, but I prefer just-reopened Colson Bakery (try the financiers) or stop by my newest fave place, Pitas and Sticks on 9th Street just past Steve’s C-Town. It channels the food we had last summer in Athens, Santorini and Mykonos!

Look forward to seeing you over the Open Studio Tour weekend—and please feel free to share this invite with anyone else who may be interested.

This entry was published on October 28, 2015 at 8:32 pm. It’s filed under Fall, Home, watercolor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “News & Events from the Studio

  1. Lovely, congratulations. I wish I were in your area to visit. Wishing you all the best; you’re such a talented and gifted artist.

  2. Hi Joy, I’m way over here in Australia…so I won’t get to visit there. 🙂 Nevertheless, all the best for your open days and congratulations on having your work in the 440 gallery; sounds great! Love your work! ~ Janette

Leave a Reply

