©2015 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Three Ballfields and a Sky

Deciding when to put the brushes down

Just when I wanted to take a mind-clearing walk at the end of an uncomfortably hot August day, the sky over Prospect Park turned crazy with clouds and I had to pause to take exactly one photo with my iPhone. Here’s the painting from that one snap.

The sky and the park really looked like this. In my excitement to paint the scene the tones in the sky got exaggerated just enough to skew the values overall. It has a cartoonish too-contrasty look that I’m not crazy about…but also not concerned enough with to keep working on. I’ve considered painting the scene again—sure that with a lighter sky the picture would work better—but brushes down on this one. Moving on to the next painting and perhaps I’ll revisit this on a cold, grey winter day.

August 2015
Watercolor
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 14.25″ x 21.5″

This entry was published on August 22, 2015 at 11:55 am. It’s filed under Home, landscape, Prospect Park, Summer, watercolor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Three Ballfields and a Sky

  1. I enjoy the painter’s commentary on the technical and artistic decisions that are behind a work.

  2. I think this is absolutely beautiful. I love it and find it very transportive, putting me right there in the scene, looking up at the trees. Very refreshing and I absolutely love the colors as well. Wonderful painting!

  3. Joy Makon on said:

    Thank you, fellow art lovers and wordpress bloggers, for your likes and encouraging comments. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

