©2015 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Paper Test

June Dusk at the Philharmonic in the Park

I’ve been taking a lot of walks and taking a lot of photographs and nothing is inspiring me right now. It will pass. So in the interim, I’ve taken this painting downtime to test out a sheet of Twinrocker watercolor paper that I purchased at New York Central a couple of weeks ago. It’s definitely an experience that is different from the heavy-weight Arches that I love and use for most of my work. Twinrocker has a softer surface with less texture than cold-press Arches, and I am guessing that has to do with the sizing that is applied to the paper. It was easier to draw on the surface as the finish is smoother. I really poured on water and paint and found that colors initially stained the paper immediately and granulated a lot less. The pigment seemed to sit on the paper surface and could be scrubbed out easily. The washes of pigment layered quite nicely, although I could not get any blooms or water marks to form as I usually can with Arches. The actual paper surface took a lot of water and made very few ripples and dried perfectly flat (I tape my paper with masking tape to masonite). The sheets come with nice deckle edges on all four sizes, in weights that are slightly less heavy than Arches.

The verdict: clearly a quality paper and with the right techniques, beautiful effects could be achieved, especially when layering color washes. Colors maintained a nice brightness and intensity when dried. I’d need to paint on it more to become comfortable with it’s qualities. I liked how it was easier to draw on it and how it dried flat.

Next on my list to try: Saunders Waterford by St. Cuthberts Mill.

July 2015
Watercolor
Twinrocker cold press, 200 lb, 11″ x 17″

This entry was published on July 1, 2015 at 4:45 pm. It’s filed under Home, landscape, Prospect Park, Spring, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Paper Test

  1. Alan Sidman on said:

    Dear Joy, You’ve done it again. You are really producing one excellent piece after another. Love from us, Sharman and Alan >

Leave a Reply

