©2014 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

At Wave Hill in October

Where sometimes I bite off more than I can chew.

This is the second painting from Wave Hill that I started a few weeks ago. It’s a grand west-facing panorama that captures the New Jersey Palisades along with a picture-perfect sky. When I photographed the scene and viewed it later, I was pleased with the photo and that was enough. No watercolor here. Some images are better as photographs, and have too much going on for a successful painting.

But that sky…that sky…it ended up on a sheet of my fine 300-lb. Arches, and the rest of the scene then had to come along. I suppose that I could have just painted the sky—I may do that sort of work later on—but too late. I was hooked on this vista and committed to the artwork.

In the meantime, as the November days have gotten cold and grayer, and my garden moves into winter mode, any seasonal sadness that I feel has been tempered while working on this bucolic painting. Reasons why I paint, I guess, details and all.

November 2014
Watercolor and graphite
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 14″ x 21″

This entry was published on November 24, 2014 at 1:58 pm. It’s filed under Brooklyn Backyard, Fall, Home, landscape, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “At Wave Hill in October

  1. This is a BIG scene to tackle. Nice job!

  2. Your shadows, the leaves, the garden gate, the sky, the mountains are all beautiful! I do, indeed, understand what it means to get “hooked” by a big scene. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well!

  3. LillianM on said:

    Lovely painting. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

  4. This is wonderful, Joy. I like seeing all the textures in it, almost like imagining the play of your brush across the paper!

Leave a Reply

