©2014 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Wave Hill, South by Southwest

Visit often and don’t wait so long to return

During the past few weeks there have been many distractions that have prevented me from painting and I miss it. It’s been so long, in fact, that I may have forgotten how to paint.

I began this painting with the beautiful sky and then left it sitting in limbo for a few weeks while I worked on putting my Open Studio Tour together. A lot of planning, matting, hanging, arranging…and finally the weekend arrived with lots of company. The response exceeded my expectations several times over. To the friends and visitors I met last weekend: a humble thank you.

©2014 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

A work in progress.

This sky was on an easel display as a work-in-progress in my front room-turned gallery. It was a nice opening for many discussions I had with visitors about how I paint and the drawing and watercolor techniques I use. So how happy I was to return to this and complete it. It’s an awesome mid-fall vista from a wonderful public garden in The Bronx—a place that I need to visit more often. And I will tomorrow, as there’s a second Wave Hill painting that was started a few weeks ago too. It too has been calling me.

November 2014
Watercolor and graphite
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 14″ x 21″

This entry was published on November 16, 2014 at 5:15 pm. It’s filed under Fall, Home, landscape, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Wave Hill, South by Southwest

  1. That sky is unbelievably beautiful 🙂

  2. Hi Joy, How do you like the 300 lb. paper? I have a small block but haven’t used it yet. This painting evolved extremely well. I know what you mean by “forgetting how to paint”!

    • Joy Makon on said:

      Hi Kathy, I love the 300lb paper and use it almost exclusively, I use it in sheet form and score it/tear it to the size I want. I can pour buckets of water on it and it doesn’t complain, and dries flat. I just tape it to my drawing surface or use it in the block form. I’ve noticed that the cold press sheet looks like the 140 lb rough surface. It’s harder to draw on, so not great for drawing intricate details, but started using a mechanical-lead pencil for my drawing and that works great. Soon, I plan on purchasing one sheet of 300 lb hot press, just to compare the surface, but generally I like the tooth of the cold press. Makes for good brushstrokes, especially if you paint on the dry side.

Leave a Reply

