@2014 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Spring Training, Part III

Never too many pansies, never too many purples

As soon as the weather warms up even a teeny bit, I always plant lots of pansies in my front and back gardens. They love the early spring chill, add lots of color, and have cheery littly clown faces that make me smile. So it is fitting that pansies became the last subject in a series of studio paintings that I worked on while waiting for Spring to kick in. Boy did I break a sweat trying to get the many purple and violet hues in these flowers. There are now four different tubes of purples and violets in my palette. While none of them really nailed the hues I was looking for, I learned to balance colors to each other while experimenting with mixing paint colors.

Spring is indeed here, and it is great, and I’m outside looking at all the new growth and colors and thinking about the next painting. What are all you other painters out there planning to work on? How do you get your inspiration?

Please check out Colin Devroe’s review of one of my paintings on The Watercolor Gallery website. Thank you Colin!

May 2014
Watercolor and graphite
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 14″ x 21″

This entry was published on May 3, 2014 at 7:02 pm. It’s filed under Home, still life, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

