@2014 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Spring Training

If baseball players can train in the spring…

Cold, rain, March Winds, April Showers, whatever…I am going to blow through my greengrocer’s stock of flowers and paint them all until the weather becomes a lot less annoying. Daffodils, maybe next, although I’m pining to plant a few flats of pansies in my garden and may have them around to work with too. I realized with this painting how little use of reds were needed in my wintry snow paintings. I worked with a new tube of quinacridone red (M. Graham) and enjoyed the blue/red punch of the color along with its transparency. Cad red is often too opaque for my liking, but using both in this painting was a good learning experience.

March 2014
Watercolor and graphite
Arches cold press, 300 lb, 14″ x 21″

This entry was published on March 30, 2014 at 12:09 pm. It’s filed under Home, still life, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Spring Training

  1. Hi Joy, I love the tulips and the vase is gorgeous. But most of all I think I like the different colored shadows. This whole painting is a delight.

Leave a Reply

