©2014 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Who is Bartel Pritchard?

Please don’t tell me it looks like a photograph

Lately when I look at watercolor paintings, I try to study the artist’s technique along the way. How one artist uses color and shapes to signify land masses, how washes can define buildings with a single wet patch, how simple brushstrokes symbolize shadows and movement. My favorite paintings tend to have fewer rather than more details, well-drawn shapes and a defined sense of light. I enjoy it more when realism is alluded to in a minimalist fashion, rather than every detail defined. Therefore, when I paint, I’m not trying to create a photographic reproduction, but a painting complete with messy brushstrokes, pools of water and pigment, and plenty of liberal interpretations of color and light. I want enough details to make it plausible and satisfy my painting curiosity. But spend lots of time with the size 000 brushes? Not really.

Dedicated in 1911, these granite columns were designed by Stanford White.

Dedicated in 1911, the Bartel-Pritchard Circle Columns were designed by Stanford White.

This is my way of saying that this small painting of the entrance to Prospect Park in my Windsor Terrace neighborhood is a study of light falling on a snowtipped monument, lots of snow-packed trees, a brilliant blue sky, and a few details thrown in for fun. Who were Bartel and Pritchard? Two young Brooklyn natives who died in combat during WW1 in France.

Lots and lots of watercolor inspiration and what I’m looking at can be found on my Pinterest board. Check it out.

February 2014
Watercolor and graphite
Arches cold press, 140 lb, 8″ x 8″

This entry was published on February 22, 2014 at 1:22 pm. It’s filed under Home, landscape, Uncategorized, watercolor, winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Who is Bartel Pritchard?

  1. It doesn’t look like a photograph to me, but rather a beautiful, expressive watercolor.

Leave a Reply

