©2013 Joy Makon. Not to be reproduced without permission.

Prospect Park Southwest

One-point perspective

I’m not sure if I learned perspective drawing in geometry class or in art class, but I always loved one- and two-point drawing. As the daughter of an engineer, I had access to mechanical drawing tools and my teen works often had a hard-edged 3D quality to them. Influences were record album graphics, Star Trek, and Buckminster Fuller, via The Whole Earth Catalog. I used to render chemistry molecules as 3D spheres, to the delight of my chem teacher.

This verdant canopy of trees along Prospect Park Southwest was a perfect subject for me to paint and experiment with the drawing perspective and colors. The drawing is off a bit in some areas, like the cars, but they are not crucial to the image. So much for wanting to paint using minimal amounts of brushstrokes! There are a gazillion in this painting and I love the Arches paper for the ability to really attack the surface with brushes and wetting and scrubbing.

I am off to watercolor class where I am looking forward to painting something other than trees—pomegranates and artichokes, maybe?

October 2013
Watercolor and graphite
Arches Cover Stock, 140 lb, 14″ x 19″

This entry was published on October 28, 2013 at 1:09 pm. It’s filed under Home, landscape, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Prospect Park Southwest

  1. Joy, I like the path, the delicate shadows, and the burst of sun coming through the trees toward the end of the path. Looks like a lovely fall walk!

  2. Joy Makon on said:

    Appreciate the kind feedback, Marian!

Leave a Reply

