©2013 Joy Makon. Not to be used without permission.

Coney Island Monday #2

A study of textures

I thought that I’d try painting a gull…looks a little cartoony, but it’s a start. The surf lent itself to the rough Arches paper and a dry brush, and I think the result is fun. I made myself STOP working on the water and went with the white of the paper and the rough brushstrokes. I love the mossy rocks—just what I see when I’m walking the beach toward Sea Gate.

August 2013
Watercolor and graphite
Arches rough, 140 lb, 7″ x 9″
This entry was published on August 22, 2013 at 10:59 pm. It’s filed under Home, landscape, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

